Timeline of Anarchist Thought

1756 First anarchist essay.
General critique of statism.
Edmund Burke A Vindication of Natural Society
1793 First book on anarchism.
First positive theory.
William Godwin An Enquiry Concerning Political Justice
1833 First anarchist. Josiah Warren The Peaceful Revolutionist (1833),
True Civilization (1863)
1840 First self-described anarchist. Pierre Proudhon What is Property?
1844 Egoist quasi-anarchist. Max Stirner The Ego and Its Own
1849 First anarcho-capitalist. Gustave de Molinari The Production of Security
1866 First anarcho-socialist. Michael Bakunin Revolutionary Catechism
1867 Individualist anarchist,
natural law theorist.
Lysander Spooner No Treason (1867),
Natural Law (1882)
1886 Individualist anarchist publisher. Benjamin Tucker State Socialism and Anarchism
1902 First anarcho-communist. Peter Kropotkin Mutual Aid
1973 First modern anarcho-capitalist. Murray Rothbard For a New Liberty (1973),
The Ethics of Liberty (1982)